Monthly Game Talks: June 2015 !

293176

Read on for the “Monthly Game Talks” post of June 2015.

I believe that pretty clean and organized around the house. I don’t like to have things laying around and make sure that each item has a spot to put it away. When you live in an apartment, you’re kind of obliged to work that way if you want to keep your interior clean. That said … if you ask my wife she’ll probably tell you that I’m all the time leaving some gaming “stuff” in the living room.

Let’s clarify the word “stuff” and be more specific: admittedly, I leave my miniatures, brushes, paint material in a few boxes (= mostly game expansion boxes converted into temporary storage boxes) in the open.

IMG_6239

Why is it that I leave them around ? Well, aside from the fact that I do like to look at them because after all – I did spent some money on it – it also reminds me that eventually I have to paint them. When you have the entire collection of Zombicide, Imperial Assault, Arcadia Quest, Talisman, Cadwallon City of Thieves, Dark Darker Darkest amongst others .. that gives you a whooping 1000+ mini’s to paint !

IMG_6240

So most of them are actually already with a white/black primer coat. That was the easy part (right!); spending a few hours outside, spraying them with 3 or 4 cans of Army Painter. Now, I’m actually at the base-coating step for almost all of them. Ah, if it was so easy to have just a magical spray to base-coat them too !

IMG_6249

I recently acquired a few extra different paints from Citadel – I went for a bit of everything from the dry-brushing products (for which I’m not that convinced to be honest) to the glaze products (which are really a big plus ! Go for it). Citadel has a package with all the dry-brushing paints into 1 box for a price about ~30€ . Based on the advise of a friend, I took them home .. but found out they are really “dry” in the pot and I get on my pencil a cluttery “blob” that I end up anyhow wiping up on my tissue. So probably I missed something out there on the usage of those. For now, I’m really not convinced at all.

IMG_6251

So we’re playing at my place regularly and my friends see those mini’s hanging around in their boxes and ask me how it’s going forward (or not) with the paint job. I start telling them that it’s going pretty well (ok maybe I’m not really on track with my initial schedule, true …) and I hope to finish off soon.

The truth is that I also needed to invest in the right material – yes, it is costly to do some painting – if you want to have an “easy life”. You will go for some extra shades colors and ready-made washes, not because you have to, but because it’s makes it easier and speed up your painting process. I just bought the Warpaints Quickshade Ink Set and I have to see this does wonders. I really encourage you this investment to avoid having all the time the same dark effect on your miniatures.

IMG_6242

Some of my friends who are not painting at all ask the question; but once painted do you still dare to take them in your hands to play them ? And what about the storage, do you buy special foam inserts for your boxes ?

My answer is pretty upfront and I tell them; games with miniatures are exactly fun for that purpose; being able to manipulate the miniatures over the board ! Hell, otherwise I’ll go for a good euro-style workers placement game with wooden cubes and carton tiles. So, to protect them, I apply a varnish transparent layer (matte or shiny depending on which effect I would prefer) with an Army Painter or Citadel spray can. I actually also bought some transparent varnish from the hobbyshop that works pretty well too.

It’s at that point that we start the discussion about the dreaded Dullcote Frost problem that most of you painters must have experiences sooner or later. Spending hours painting to end up with an ugly frostly look at the last step of your painting process is just an awful miserable experience that will haunt you for days !

Well, not anymore … because looking around on the web, I found on the blog of Nice manners for a thief an eye-opener life-saver post.

His explanation over there stands in 5 words: Usage Of Olive Oil Spray. Read on the excerpt:

Take that ruined mini and spray it down on both sides.  It doesn’t take a lot, but you want it coated for best results.  I recommend doing it over the sink for easy cleanup. […]

Once you’ve coated the model, rub it down with a soft cloth or shammy.  You can just use your fingers, but a cloth will allow you to easily get into the nooks and crannies.  You’ll see the color start to return immediately.  You’ll also get that glossy shine back – like before you sprayed it. […]

At this point, you might decide, “screw Dullcoting it.  I’ll take the shine over frost,” and I wouldn’t blame you.  After all, there’s nothing like rework for taking the joy out of a task.  However, you can absolutely re-apply Dullcote once the oil has a day to dry, and it will work as intended.

I can tell you that this neat trick is worth gold and took away my fear of screwing up my painting last step ! Although his blog has not been updated since a while, take a look around and check out the pictures of his painted figurines. Really nice job done !

You’ll find on the web many articles about proactively avoiding this frosting effect once you’re done applying the varnish layer. Basically, people will tell you to place your miniatures under a hot (desk-) lamp or use your hairdryer. That is certainly also a good preventive action to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

